SALINA — Four Pottawatomie County Schools teachers have been nominated for the 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year program.

The four teachers are Shawn Hornung of Wamego High School, Kim Marquardt of Central Elementary School, Sara Miller of Rock Creek Junior-Senior High School and Wendy Willi of St. George Elementary School.

Wamego USD 320 superintendent Tim Winter explains the process for how these teachers are nominated.

      KTOY Tim Winter

While the program recognizes teaching excellence in Kansas, Rock Creek USD 320 superintendent Kevin Logan says it does more than that.

      KTOY Kevin Logan

These four teachers will be recognized at a ceremony at the Salina Hilton Garden Inn on September 14th. A reception will be held at 11 a.m. and the awards ceremony will be at noon.

Other teachers from the area being recognized include Kelly Carmody from Woodrow Wilson Elementary in Manhattan, Noah Busch from Manhattan High East Campus and Freedom Brass from Lincoln Elementary School in Geary County USD 475.

The post appeared first on News Radio KMAN.